How to Close Out a Facebook Account for Good

May 4, 2020 • Devin Partida

Advertisements


Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms in the world today. Of the 72% of American adults who use social media, 69% of them use Facebook. There comes a time, though, when some users may want to delete their Facebook account permanently. So, how to close out a Facebook account for good could become a common question.

Users
could want to close out their accounts for a variety of reasons. Concerns over
security breaches, like last year’s hack that exposed millions
of profiles
,
may cause distrust in the platform. Reasons for deleting could also be as
mundane as a user rarely using the site.

Whatever
the reason, sometimes people need to know how to permanently delete a Facebook
account. When that time comes, there are a couple of distinctions users should
know about.

Deactivating vs. Deleting

When
users go to delete Facebook, they’ll find two different options: deactivation
and deletion. Unaware users could easily mistake them to be the same thing,
since their titles are so similar. While they are similar actions, there’s an
essential distinction between them.

Deactivating
an account is a temporary solution. People won’t be able to find a deactivated
account, but they will be able to see its comments and messages. After
deactivating, a user can reactivate their profile at any time they want to.

Deleting
an account, on the other hand, is permanent. Facebook friends will still be
able to see old messages, but all other traces of the profile will go away. If
someone deletes their account, they’ll have to make a new one to rejoin
Facebook.

Deleting a Facebook Account

Users
wondering how to delete Facebook permanently should opt for deletion, not
deactivation. The first step in this process is to open up the Settings page.
Clicking the downward-facing arrow at the top-right corner of the screen will
reveal a menu containing Settings.

On
the Settings page, there’s an option on the left-hand side called “Your
Facebook Information.” Clicking this will open a list of options,
including “Deactivation and Deletion.” After clicking this button,
select “Continue to Account Deletion.”

Facebook
will then prompt users to enter their password as a security measure. After
entering their password, users can click “Continue” then “Delete
Account,” and that will finish the process. Users can cancel the deletion
if they log into Facebook within 30 days of following these steps.

According
to Facebook, it can take up to 90 days to remove everything
from the site. Other users can’t access any of this data during that time, but
it will still exist.

Saving Facebook Data

Some
users may want to save their information from Facebook before they delete their
account. People who don’t have other backups of their Facebook photos and
videos may not want to lose them. If that’s the case, users can download their
Facebook data during the deletion process.

In
the “Deactivation and Deletion” menu, there’s an option titled
“Download Your Information.” Clicking this button will show a list of
data categories users can select to download. After choosing all they want to
save, users can press “Create File” to begin the download.

It
may take several days to compile this file, so users should check on this
status before deleting their profile. After downloading all the information
they want to keep, users can delete their account without fear.

Taking Control Over Data: How to Close out a Facebook Account

Now
that you know how to close out a Facebook account, you can take control of your
social media data. Since 67% of people are
skeptical
 about
social media data protection in general, deletion is a logical privacy measure
to take.

No
matter someone’s reason for deleting Facebook, the process isn’t a complicated
one. With a few simple steps, users can save their data and then remove it from
the public eye.



bg-pamplet-2