Wondering how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat or just deleted you from their friends? There are a few hints you can look for that will help you figure out if you’ve been blocked, unfriended or if there’s simply a glitch or mistake. This guide covers the difference between being blocked and unfriended, five key signs you might have been blocked, and what to do if someone blocked you on Snapchat.
Getting Blocked vs Unfriended On Snapchat
When someone’s activity or messages don’t seem to show up on Snapchat, it’s easy to jump to conclusions. Part of learning how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat is understanding the difference between blocking and unfriending.
Someone can delete you from their friends list on Snap without blocking you. This can even happen by accident. If someone unfriended you, their chat with you may have disappeared from your messages. If you search for their username, though, you should still be able to see their account and request to be friends again.
Getting blocked is like being unfriended but without the option to try again. When someone blocks you, you can’t try to re-add them as a friend, send them messages or send them snaps. Only the person who blocked you can undo it.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You On Snapchat: 5 Signs
Figuring how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat can be frustrating and nerve-wracking, but there are some signs you can look for. Snapchat won’t notify you if someone blocks and they can’t tell you even if you did send customer service a message about it. This is out of respect for users’ privacy.
If you think you might have been blocked on Snap, look for these five key indicators. These can also rule out the possibility you’ve simply been unfriended.
1. Their Username is Gone From Search
One dead giveaway that someone blocked you on Snapchat is when their username does not come up in search. If you type in their name or username like you’re trying to add them as a friend, their account does not show up. This most likely means the person in question didn’t unfriend you but completely blocked you.
It is worth keeping in mind that people can create new Snapchat accounts or change their account details. Before getting worried, try to double check that this hasn’t happened. The person you’re searching for might have simply forgotten to tell you they made a new account. If you have another way to get in contact with them, consider politely asking if they changed their username or deleted their old account. You can also have a mutual friend ask for you if possible.
2. Their Account Shows Up For Other Users
If you have another friend with Snapchat, ask them to help you out. Search for the suspected blocker’s account from your friend’s Snapchat account. If it shows up for them but not for you, that’s a sure sign you’ve been blocked. When you search from your friend’s account, try again from your own account just to double check that it wasn’t some kind of glitch or accident.
3. Your Chat With Them Disappeared
One reason you may be wondering how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat is if your chat with them disappeared. Maybe you opened Snapchat to send a message to someone only to find your conversation with them missing. Unfortunately, this most likely means the other person blocked you.
This is one big difference between blocking and unfriending. If someone unfriends you, you should still be able to see your saved messages with them.
The clear chat and clear conversation functions on Snapchat are also different. Clear conversation would only delete chats on one person’s side, so you would still be able to see your chat with the other person. If they simply cleared a few chats, the whole conversation would still be visible.
4. Their Bitmoji or Snapscore Aren’t Visible
A couple smaller signs that someone blocked you on Snapchat include their bitmoji and snapscore disappearing. You may not be able to check this if you can’t pull up their profile, though. If you can find the other person’s profile, it will most likely be very barren.
Their bitmoji profile picture might be missing, with the basic gray profile icon in its place. Additionally, the other person’s snapscore may also be hidden so you can only see their username and nothing else.
5. Their Location and Story Aren’t Visible
Finally, if you suddenly can’t see someone’s location or story on Snapchat, they might have blocked you. However, keep in mind that people can also choose who can view their story and location without actually blocking them. Snapchat allows users to whitelist accounts that have permission to view this content, blocking everyone else from seeing it, even if you are still friends.
So, it could just be that someone wanted to tighten up their story or location privacy. They may not have completely blocked you, but if they did, their story and location will not be visible to you.
What To Do if Someone Blocked You On Snapchat
Learning how to get over being blocked is just as important as learning how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat. Nine times out of ten, people have a specific and valid reason for blocking others on social media. As frustrating as it may be, you need to respect that decision if you do get blocked.
If someone blocks you on Snapchat, usually the best thing to do is to just let it go. After all, backing off and giving the other person the space they requested may help you fix things with them and get un-blocked. Additionally, attempting to keep contacting someone who blocked you on social media can breach privacy rules and lead to trouble, such as account suspension.
Don’t try to make a new account or impersonate someone else to get back in touch with the person who blocked you on Snapchat. This can appear creepy and invasive, reinforcing the other person’s decision to block your original account. They will most likely just block all of your new accounts anyway.
If you really want to know why someone blocked you, make sure you are polite and respectful when asking about it. It is a good idea to have a mutual friend ask for you if you can. This will respect the other person’s boundaries while still hopefully getting you an answer. If you think the other person blocked you because of a misunderstanding, you can try to communicate that and clear things up.
Getting Blocked On Snapchat
Figuring out how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat can be frustrating and confusing, but usually there are a few giveaways. Unfortunately, the only way to know for sure is if the person who blocked you confirms it. If someone does block you on Snapchat, the best response is to respect their boundaries. Jus try to continue enjoying social media without that person in your friends list and make the best of it.
Follow Us On
Get the latest tech stories and news in seconds!
Sign up for our newsletter below to receive updates about technology trends